The potential of wikis in education

I attended the IASCE/NDLR Applied Social Care Educators Conference this morning in Trinity College Dublin. Muireann O’Keefe of the Learning, Teaching and Technology Centre, Dublin Institute of Technology and I facilitated a workshop on how to create and use a wiki and their potential within learning and teaching. I reflected on the experience of wikis with my MA Criminology class and my plans for the future.

The reaction of conference participants was really encouraging and it seems that there is a great energy for innovation in teaching across the disciplines.

My own experience of wikis is that they allow for collaboration, particularly amongst part-time or evening students, multiply the number of sites of potential learning, facilitate peer learning and increase democracy in discussion and within the classroom.

I will keep you updated on my wiki progress! I’d be delighted to hear about your experiences in this area.

www.pbworks.com

I love this video:

You may also find this helpful: http://itcboisestate.wordpress.com/2008/03/18/within-the-wiki-emerging-roles-for-teaching-learning/

The potential of wikis in education

Leave a Reply

